The 4-Levels of Sugar-Free Living

Sugar Free Living Levels

There are certainly some surprising facts about the art of sugar-free living.

When my clients start the Sweet Liberation Program, and begin their journey to kicking sugar to the curb, they are often surprised to discover that there are 64 names for sugar; of the 600,000 food products on the market, 80% of them contain added sugar. And, there are actually 4-levels of living a sugar-free lifestyle.

So, the next time you meet someone who says that they live sugar-free, ask them what they mean by that because living sugar-free is so much more than avoiding white processed sugar. In fact, did you know that a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice contains the same amount of sugar as a can of Coke?

Sugar naturally occurs in a variety of our foods. But, when it comes to sugar, it doesn’t matter where it is derived: sugar is sugar is sugar, and the body breaks down sugars like glucose and fructose in the same way whether you consume the sugar from a chocolate bar, a can of soda, or a glass of freshly squeezed fruit juice.

So, what are the 4 levels of living sugar-free?

Level 1: The most basic sugar-free living level requires the elimination of white processed sugar made from sugar cane or sugar beets. In addition to corn-based sugars like dextrose or high fructose corn syrup, and artificial sweeteners or agave nectar. These forms of sugars and sweeteners are unhealthy for the body. When it comes to added sugar and agave nectar, it is the fructose portion that is particularly toxic to the body.

Fructose is a form of sugar that the body cannot use for energy production. Instead, the liver mainly converts fructose in Low Density Lipoproteins (LDL): better known as bad cholesterol. The liver also converts fructose into uric acid: a compound that has the potential to contribute to high blood pressure or hypertension.

My primary recommendation to my clients is to live as a Level 1 Sugar-freer. I don’t believe that anyone should consume white processed sugar from genetically modified sugar beets or pesticide ridden sugar cane. Processed sugars are void of any nutrition. And, that’s why they are referred to as ’empty calories’.

In Level 1, added sugars are still allowed; they are just focused on the naturally occurring ones like honey, maple syrup, dates, brown rice syrup, coconut sugar, and all fruits. Also, don’t forget about natural liquid stevia (without erythritol) to sweeten up your life.

Level 2: This level is the next step up from Level 1. In this stage, you eliminate white processed flours and white rice products. White flour and rice easily breakdown into glucose or sugar within the gut. Your body then absorbs the glucose and your blood sugar level then spikes. Instead of exposing your body to simple, white flour and rice products, look for products that are made from whole, rustic grains.

My clients are directed to purchase sugar-free, whole grain breads like 100% sugar-free rye bread. There is also whole grain wheat bread with seeds. There are also gluten-free options when looking to buy sugar-free whole grain breads.

So, in Level 2, people give up the added forms of sugars, artificial sweeteners and agave listed in Level 1, in addition to white flour and rice products of Level 2. Each sugar-free level builds upon the last, and each becomes a more serious and focused commitment.

As in Level 1, in this level you still have access to natural added sugars.

Level 3: In Level 3, you would then eliminate potatoes and corn. Like white processed flour and rice, potatoes and corn breakdown in the gut into units of glucose, which ultimately spike the blood sugar. Spikes in blood sugar lead to surges of insulin secretion from the pancreas.

Insulin is the key that unlocks the sugar doors on the surface of your cells. We need sugar, in the form of glucose, to produce energy; therefore, it must enter the cells. But, if there is too much glucose in the blood, it will be converted to glycogen (the storage form of glucose) or straight to fat.

And, it doesn’t take that much sugar consumption to produce fat in the body. The World Health Organization recommends that we limit our sugar consumption to 6 teaspoons of added sugar per day. One can of soda contains 12 teaspoons of sugar. So, 6 teaspoons isn’t a lot per day.

By Level 3, you are beginning to eliminate natural added sugars; the only ones allowed are honey, maple syrup, fruit, and stevia.

Level 4: This level is the hardest level to master. It eliminates all sugary foods from the first three levels, but it also eliminates all forms of added sugar (including no honey, maple syrups, dates, coconut sugar, or brown rice syrup). this level also eliminates all fruit as well.

Level 4 is most applicable to those being treated for a chronic illness or have chronic candida. As a Lyme patient, I lived as a Level 4 Sugar-Freer for 2.5 years, while I was on antibiotic therapy. It was the best thing I did to support my body through treatment and recovery. It was an ultimate stress relief, which allowed my body to heal.

I am currently living as a Level 3.5 Sugar-freer. I do eat fruit and potatoes once more, but I have remained added sugar-free, no artificial sweeteners, no agave, no white rice or flour products, or corn.

When you have a chronic illness there is a way that you can eat in order to support your body through to recovery. You have the power to decide how to feed your body. And, I think it’s empowering to know that you have the capability to bring healing to your body and to support your medical treatment so that you can get back to living, quicker, rather than later.

For more information on the Sweet Liberation Program, and to learn how you can lose weight, boost energy, and support your body through chronic illness recovery, click here.

Sweet liberation clients experience BIG, transformative results. And, if you would like to know if this program is right for you, email me at to schedule a Skype or Phone meeting. I offer FREE 20-minute coaching calls to bring clarity to your health goals.

The Sweet Liberation Program gently guides you through each level of Sugar-Free Living with the support of private one-on-one coaching sessions, exclusive how-to videos, video lectures, and a guide book. The Sweet Liberation Program is designed to empower women with the knowledge to rock their health with clarity and confidence.

Opt In Image
If you seek to EMPOWER your health & life, join us to receive weekly inspiring articles & recipes: plus a free superfood ingredient guide.

11 Comments on “The 4-Levels of Sugar-Free Living

    •  by  admin

      Thanks so much, Kyle! I love teaching people how to quit sugar; it can be confusing for some, since our food is so saturated with the stuff. Cheers to you!

  1. Pingback: Summer Peach Fruit Leather Recipe | AlisonSmith

  2. Pingback: Video: The 4-Levels of Sugar-Free Living | AlisonSmith

  3. Pingback: Sugar-Free Chocolate Banana Pancakes | AlisonSmith

  4. Pingback: Sugar-Free Chocolate Chips | AlisonSmith

  5. Pingback: Quick Chocolate Chia Pudding | AlisonSmith

  6. Pingback: Easy Sugar-Free Peanut Butter Cups | AlisonSmith

  7. Pingback: Hazelnut Biscotti with Cinnamon Glaze | AlisonSmith

  8. Pingback: Chocolate, Hemp & Goji Berry Bliss Bites | AlisonSmith

  9. Pingback: Vanilla Chia Seed Pudding | AlisonSmith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *